Giving Back: My Career Tips

To those affected by layoffs

As we come up on Thanksgiving, I’m reminded of those recently laid off or otherwise still looking for a job. LinkedIn posts starting with, “I have been affected by the layoffs…” still fill my feed. Some will have to go to Thanksgiving with no prospects.

To give back, I’ll share a few tips and principles that helped me. I hope it will help you too.

Demo Reels and Portfolios

Demo reels and portfolios should only have your highlights. This is especially true for demo reels. Start with a hook, and end on a high note.

Even if your highlights could fill a half hour reel or a full webpage, try to find your weakest links. Looking back at my past reels, I would have removed 1-2 more pieces from each. These aren’t to commemorate your favorite pieces: it’s marketing the highlights that will most likely land an interview.

Have your portfolio also reflect your personal style and niche. If you have a diverse portfolio, use folders or tabs to separate them so it’s easier for recruiters to filter out what they’re looking for.

And I’d be happy to review your resumes, reels or portfolios! Message me your links; I’ll give as much in-depth feedback as I can.

Networking

Networking is not just about making contacts. It’s about building long-term relationships with people who can help fulfill your career goals, and you theirs.

Being authentic and genuinely friendly is the best tip I can give (a good life tip too). Strive to find real friendships throughout your career path. Show your true self and care about others.

I struggled with shyness and social confidence for a long time, which made it hard to like networking. Social media like LinkedIn helped me begin without the pressure of face-to-face interactions.

Another tip, from To Kill a Mockingbird’s Atticus: focus on others’ interests in conversations. Others will feel appreciated and heard. They will likely return the favor by asking about you. This helps me ease into conversations and just listen first.

Remember that networking, like any other relationship, is a long-term process. Check in with those you have connected with before. Follow up, and have it occasionally not be about work. Over time, you will see the results.

Building your Resume(s)

For resumes, countless tips and templates can be found online. But if you’re insecure or otherwise worried about yours, resume writers can help. I’ve used one before; they work wonders and are worth the investment.

Start a habit to journal your career with a CV. If you ever wonder what to put on your resume, this will be a critical resource. I often go back through my work emails or past tasks to add to my resume (be sure to ask permission if needed - bigger companies likely have NDAs about what you can share).

Keep a list of your:

  • Professional skills (including familiarity with technologies, software packages, programming languages)

  • Publications and speaking engagements

  • Awards and recognitions received (including degrees and certifications)

  • Professional affiliations, community outreach, and volunteer work

And for each role you’ve taken, also document:

  • Notable accomplishments - what you created or changed (constructed lighting presets, scripted a procedural road system)

  • Most important responsibilities - if you manage anyone, list the number of direct reports

  • How performance was measured, and in what measurements you succeeded or exceeded expectations (a good prompt for this: how have you saved your company time, or money?)

Quantify the above points with numbers whenever possible. A resume saying, “a 320% speed increase” is much better than “optimized the lighting.”

Oh, and recruiters love seeing passion projects. These often impressed my recruiters, especially when I didn’t have a full-time job yet. And my projects weren’t always related to the job itself either. Chances are, you already have some projects. Share them on your resume, portfolio, or social media!

Also, know that you may need to create multiple resumes sometimes, especially at the beginning when you’re exploring your interests. That’s okay. Reuse templates and formats as needed.

It’s Not Over Yet

Please believe this. It’s hard to apply again, and again, and again. And still nothing. When it happens long enough, not much will make it feel any easier.

Unfortunately, a solid resume and portfolio won’t ensure a job immediately. Due to external circumstances, many amazing people with awesome reels still don’t have a job.

Don’t worry. Keep practicing what you can control. Keep going. You’ll find a way to provide for yourself and your family.

And again, I’m happy to critique resumes, demo reels, and portfolios in the meantime. Send them my way!